Press Releases

Namibia defeat Kenya to win T20 quadrangular title

Namibia beat Kenya by five wickets to claim the T20 quadrangular series in the final match played at the Wanderers Cricket Club in Windhoek, Namibia.

Kenya who were put in to bat after the hosts had won the toss and opted to field had a promising start racing to 73 runs from just 8 overs. Openers Tanmay Mishra and Alex Obanda finding the boundaries with ease within the field restriction overs. Obanda was the first one to depart for 30 off 24 deliveries including two fours and a similar number of sixes.

Mishra and Morris Ouma then guided the away side to 130 in 15 overs before the former fell to Craig Williams bowled for a 53-ball 68. Ouma then departed 11 runs later, skipper Collins Obuya (28) and Rakep Patel (19) then muscled their way to 179 and a final over that produced 8 runs seemed just about good enough.

Namibia in pursuit of Kenya’s total ensured a strong start through Pikky Ya France’s 38-ball 54 and even a double strike by Shem Ngoche could not prevent them winning the title.

15 runs were required off the last over and Namibia captain Sarel Burger (30) helped himself to a six and scrambled for a couple of risky runs to power his side to the T20 Quadrangular title off the final ball with 5 wickets in hand.