Under 19 National team named ahead of ICC U19 World Cup Qualifier

posted on Jun 18, 2017

Kenya has named a 14-man team for the under 19 Africa Qualifier Division 1 slated for July 1 to 8 at Nairobi Gymkhana and Jafferys Sports Club in Nairobi.

The tournament, whose winner qualifies for the International Cricket Council U19 World Cup due in January 2018, in New Zealand, will be contested by four countries including Botswana, Ghana, Uganda and hosts Kenya.

The 50-Overs qualifiers also doubles up as the Africa U19 Championships and will be played in a round robin format.

The team, under the tutelage of coach Jimmy Kamande will be out to improve on Kenya’s performance at the last qualifiers where Kenya finished third behind winners Namibia and runners up Uganda in Dar es Salaam in 2015.

ICC Africa Under-19 Championships holders Namibia is the only country from Africa which has already qualified for the U19 World Cup hence they will not compete in Nairobi. Due to their superior eight place finish at the 2016 World Cup, they earned an automatic qualification into the next (2018) World Cup.

The team comprises Sachin Bhudia (captain),  Aman Gandhi, Ankit Hirani, Abhishekh Chidambaran, Aveet Desai, Gerald Mwendwa, Dennis Musyoka, Yaksh Patel, Jayant Mepani, Maxwel Ager, Jasraj Kundi, Rahul Seedhar, Sukhdeep Singh and Thomas Ochieng.

Fixtures - 

Thursday 29 June Teams Arrive  
Friday 30 June Practice / Meetings / Opening Function
Saturday 1 July Kenya v Ghana Nairobi Gymkhana
Saturday 1 July Uganda v Botswana Jafferys Sports Club
Sunday 2 July Botswana v Kenya Nairobi Gymkhana
Sunday 2 July Ghana v Uganda Jafferys Sports Club
Tuesday 4 July Botswana v Ghana Nairobi Gymkhana
Tuesday 4 July Kenya v Uganda Jafferys Sports Club
Wednesday 5 July Botswana v Uganda Nairobi Gymkhana
Wednesday 5 July Ghana v Kenya Jafferys Sports Club
Friday 7 July Kenya v Botswana Jafferys Sports Club
Friday 7 July Uganda v Ghana Nairobi Gymkhana
Saturday 8 July Ghana vs Botswana Jafferys Sports Club
Saturday 8 July Uganda v Kenya Nairobi Gymkhana
Sunday 9 July Teams Depart  
All Games Start at 9:30 AM (EST)