Arya Primary School won the Mombasa Mainland 2nd Mini Cricket Tournament 2016

posted on Jul 25, 2016

Arya Primary School caused a major upset by beating  the defending Champions  of Mombasa Island zone, Agakhan Primary School in the finals of MOMBASA Island Zone boys Cricket tournament on Saturday 16th July 2016 at Coast Gymkhana .Makande Primary School beat Makupa primary School in the Girls category.
Meanwhile in the Mombasa mainland zone, MM Shah primary School the New entrants to Cricket Kenya Development programme playing in their first tournament lifted the title by finishing on top of the log with 10 points followed by Kisauni Primary School who also accumulated 10 points.

Mombasa island zone had 9 boys team and 9 girls team participating in the tournament.  Schools were divided into 2 groups with Group A with 5 teams group B with 4 teams. In the finals of the Island zone Tournament Arya Primary School won the toss and elected to bat first posting a total of 61 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in their allotted 8 overs. Arya bowlers kept it tight to restrict Agakhan primary School to 59 runs for the loss of 6 wickets hence beating them by 2 runs.

In the Girls category, Makande Primary School posted a total of 43 for the loss 2 Wickets in their 8 overs.Mvita Primary School started the chase steadily only to see them fall short of Victory by a meagre 3 Runs.
Individual honours went to Gautam Gambi of Arya Primary School voted as the best player of the tournament whilst Shiv Parmar begged the bowler of the tournament Award.

In the Girls category Charity Mohammed was voted as the best player of the tournament.The bowling honours went to Brenda Akinyi af Makande Primary School.

The MOMBASA mainland tournament was played on round robin format.7 Primary Schools participated in the tournament.MM Shah primary school pipped Kisauni on Nett run rate  to top the log  with both schools finishing on 10 points. The other teams were Junda Academy, Micans Academy, Frere Town Primary,Mlaleo primary and Khadija Primary school.

Imari Bakari of Kisauni was voted the best player of the tournament in the boys category, whilst Janak S of MM Shah primary won the best batsman award and the diminutive Jillo Rijji of Frere Town Primary School won the best bowlers award.

In the Girls category Riziki Mohamamed  of Junda Academy won the best player of the tournament with Mary Nyagaka going home with the best batters award and Zainab Mohammed of Junda Academy taking home the best bowler of the tournament.

The next Mini Cricket tournament is going to be Mombasa Champions league where by the winners and runners of both zones will fight it out to be the MOMBASA county Champions followed by the Combined Mombasa island zone team playing against Combined Mombasa Mainland zone at Coast Gymkhana on 12th August 2016.