Cricket Kenya unveil new look East Africa show

posted on Aug 01, 2013

Cricket Kenya (CK) has unveiled a seven-team tournament involving sides representing Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

The tournament which is set to start on Wednesday 7th August at Nairobi Club and Simba Union grounds received a sponsorship valued Ksh. 12 Million from various cooperates companies.

Kenya will have four teams, Uganda two while Tanzania will be represented by one team at the event.

Each of the four main sponsors namely Sameer Group, I&M Bank, Express Kenya and Rising Star Commodities issued a sponsorship of Ksh.2.5 Million to each of the local franchise.

The money will be used for the logistics of running of the franchises and prize money for the winners. 
APA Insurance and Meyers Water also issued Ksh.300, 000 and Ksh. 250,000 respectively that will be used for the man of the match and man of the series awards.

The event will be played on both Twenty20 and 50 overs format of the game.

The Twenty20 matches will be played from 7-11th August while the 50 overs format will run from 18th August for four weeks.

Speaking during the launching where coaches and players of all the Kenyan teams were unveiled, organizing committee chairman Tom Tikolo said the event will go a long way in development and growth of the game in the country as it will bring all the best talent in the country and the region together.

This is the third year the event is running. It was first held in 2010 and involved only four Kenyan teams and two Ugandans.

At that time, it was played on a round robin format on a home and away basis. Last year the format changed and team’s only played on a round robin with team playing each other once.

Explaining the new format, Tournament Chairman Tom Tikolo said: "With EAPL, our promising domestic boys will face the toughest challenge of proving their credentials against the best in the region The Kenyan players have been selected based on their growth as cricketers and respective individual performance.

The new tournament will see teams pooled in two pools of three and four teams respectively

Pool A will have I&M Nyati, Rising Star Chui and Warriors from Uganda. Pool B will have Sameer Simba, Ndovu Express, Knights from Uganda and Twigas from Tanzania.

Heading the franchise are experienced local coaches whom Cricket Kenya said they hope they will impart a lot of confidence and knowledge to the players.

Tikolo will coach Ndovu Express and will be assisted by Peter Ongondo. Rakep Patel will captain the team. 

Martin Suji who led Nile Knights in last year’s event is tasked for leading Sameer Simbas. Suji will be assisted by Rajab Ali. Former national team captain Maurice Ouma will captain the team.

Current national team assistant coach Thomas Odoyo and his predecessor Lameck Onyango will coach I&M Bank Nyati. Tanmay Mishra will captain the side.

Rising Stars Chui will be coached by Mombasa based Subtain Kassamali. Kassamali will be assisted by Joseph Angara while the side will be coached by national captain Collins Obuya.